Tottenham Hotspur F.C.

Tottenham Hotspur Football Club, commonly referred to as Spurs, is an English football club located in Tottenham, London, that plays in the Premier League. The club’s home stadium is White Hart Lane.

Founded in 1882, Tottenham won the FA Cup for the first time in 1901, making it the only non-League club to do so since the formation of the Football League.

Tottenham was the first club in the 20th century to achieve the League and FA Cup Double, winning both competitions in the 1960–61 season. After successfully defending the FA Cup in 1962, in 1963 it became the first British club to win a UEFA club competition – the European Cup Winners’ Cup.

In 1967 it won the FA Cup for a third time in the 1960s. In the 1970s Tottenham won the League Cup on two occasions and was the inaugural winner of the UEFA Cup in 1972, becoming the first British club to win two different major European trophies.

In the 1980s Spurs won several trophies: the FA Cup twice, FA Community Shield and the UEFA Cup in 1984. In the 1990s the club won the FA Cup and the League Cup.

When it won the League Cup once more in 2008, it meant that it had won a major trophy in each of the last six decades – an achievement only matched by Manchester United.

The club’s Latin motto is Audere est Facere (lit: “To Dare Is to Do”), and its emblem is a cockerel standing upon a football. The club has a long-standing rivalry with near neighbours Arsenal, which is known as the North London derby.

Latest Highlights

About Tottenham Hotspur Football Club
Full Name:Tottenham Hotspur Football Club
Nick Name(s):Spurs, The Lilywhites
Founded1882; 131 years ago (as Hotspur F.C.)
Home Ground:White Hart Lane,
Tottenham, London

Capacity ~ 36,310
Owner(s):ENIC International Ltd.
Chairman:Daniel Levy
Manager:Mauricio Pochettino
Major Honours
First Division:Winners (2): 1950–51, 1960–61
Second Division:Winners (2): 1919–20, 1949–50
FA CupWinners (8): 1901, 1921, 1961, 1962, 1967, 1981, 1982, 1991
League CupWinners (4): 1971, 1973, 1999, 2008
FA Charity Shield:Winners (7): 1921, 1951, 1961, 1962, 1967*, 1981*, 1991* (* shared)
UEFA Cup:Winners (2): 1972 (inaugural winners), 1984

Official Facebook Page


1 Response

  1. xscore says:

    I waited too long to see Tottenham get their first title. Sad…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.