Southampton F.C.

Southampton Football Club is an English football club, nicknamed The Saints, based in the city of Southampton, Hampshire, who compete in the Premier League.

The Saints’ home ground is the St Mary’s Stadium, where the club moved to in 2001 from The Dell. The club has been nicknamed “The Saints” since its inception in 1885 due to its history as a church football team, founded as St Mary’s Church of England Young Men’s Association (or St Mary’s Y.M.A) and has since generally played in red and white shirts.

The club has a long-standing rivalry with Portsmouth due to its close proximity and both cities’ respective maritime history. Matches between the two sides are known as the South Coast Derby.

The club has won the FA Cup once in 1976, and their highest-ever league finish was second in the First Division in 1983–84.

Southampton were relegated from the Premier League on 15 May 2005 ending 27 successive seasons of top-division football for the club.

The club eventually returned to the Premier League after a 7-year absence and have been playing there since the 2012–13 season.

About Aston Villa Football Club
Full Name:Southampton Football Club
Nick Name(s):The Saints
Home Ground:St Mary's Stadium (Capacity: 32,589)
Owner(s):Katharina Liebherr
Manager: Ronald Koeman
Chairman: Ralph Krueger


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.